Catalogue > Five Diversions, op. 1a
Price: £3.50
Item code: MM51


Full details:

Five Diversions

Five Diversions
for Piano
Date of composition 1949/1950
Opus number 1a
Type of work Concert music
Duration 13½ mins
Musical forces Piano
Publisher Modus Music
Notes Originally Four Diversions (withdrawn); subsequently A Little Waltz from Two Waltzes, op. 8 was added; movements are: 1. Vacilación (Habañera); 2. The Lake at Evening; 3. The Girl with the Auburn Hair; 4. Twilit Willows; 5. A Little Waltz


The music is peaceable, subtly textured and blessed. The sequence ends with a Little Waltz which is dedicated to Blyton’s piano teacher of his teenage years.

Rob Barnett, MusicWeb International, December 2016