Catalogue > A Shoal of Fishes, op. 88


Full details:

A Shoal of Fishes

A Shoal of Fishes
A Suite of Nine Miniatures for Pedal Concert Harp after prints by Hiroshige (1797–1858) and anonymous poems of the period, published in 1832/3
Date of composition April 1983
Opus number 88
Type of work Concert music
Musical forces Harp
Publisher Edizioni Bèrben
Notes Written for the Lloyds Bank National Composers’ Award Competition; published in the composer’s facsimile, 1988; movements are: 1. Tobiuwo (Flying fish); 2. Suzuki (Sea-perch); 3. Ebi (Shrimp); 4. Shima-hata (Grouper); 5. Ai (Trout); 6. Akodai/Kurodai (Red bream or golden tai/Black seabream or porgy); 7. Bora (Gray mullet); 8. Koi (Carp); 9. Saba/Hirosaba or marusaba (Mackerel)