Catalogue > Flying Birds, op. 66


Full details:

Flying Birds

Flying Birds
Theme and Nine Variations for Saxophone Quartet
Date of composition December 1972
Opus number 66
Type of work Concert music
Duration 7¾ mins
Musical forces Saxophone Quartet
Publisher Edizioni Bèrben
Notes Written for the London Saxophone Quartet; concert version of the music for the RSPB film; movements are: 1. Theme; 2. Variation 1: Gannets; 3. Variation 2: The Arctic Tern (Slow Waltz); 4. Variation 3: The Arctic Tern (hovering and dipping); 5. Variation 4: Birds landing; 6. Variation 5: Puffins & Friends (Slow Tango); 7. Variation 6: Razorbills and Kittiwakes; 8. Variation 7: Swans taking off… and landing; 9. Variation 8: Knot, Widgeon and Waders; 10. Variation 9: Oystercatchers and Sanderling (Finale)


…a haunting score by Blyton … in which the music comprises a theme – ‘bird flight’ – and nine variations…

Hilton Gough, BFFS Film magazine, no 25, April 1975